**Scope of coverage:** Under the community care

Florida	programs, an optional state supplement is provided to all aged, blind, or disabled persons who either receive SSI payments or have been grandfathered because they meet			
State Supplementation	all SSI criteria except for income. Income may not exceed \$657.40.			
Mandatory Minimum Supplementation	<b>Resource limitations:</b> Federal SSI regulations apply.			
No recipients.	Income exclusions: Federal SSI regulations apply.			
Optional State Supplementation	<b>Recoveries, liens, and assignments:</b> Amount of public assistance received after August 31, 1967, creates			
Administration: State Department of Children and Families.	a debt against the estate of the aged, blind, or disabled recipient, and the state can file a claim after death. Homestead exempt during life of spouse or dependent			
Effective date: January 1, 1974.	children if occupied as a homestead. Claims are filed against the estate of individuals who received Medicaid			
<b>Statutory basis for payment:</b> Florida Statutes, chapter 409.212.	on or after their 55th birthday.			
	Financial responsibility of relatives: None.			
Funding Administration: State funds. Assistance: State funds.	Interim assistance: State participates.			
	Payment levels: See Table 1.			
Passalong method: Maintaining payment levels.	Number of recipients: See Table 2.			
Place of application: Local offices of the state Department of Children and Families.				

Table 1.

#### Optional state supplementation payment levels, January 2005 (in dollars)

	Combined federal and state		State supplementation	
Living arrangement	Individual	Couple	Individual	Couple
Community care programs				
Adult family care home <sup>a</sup>	657.40		78.40	
Assisted living facility	657.40	b	78.40	b
Medicaid facility <sup>c</sup>	35.00	70.00	5.00	10.00

NOTE: ... = not applicable.

a. Payments include \$54 personal needs allowance. Recipients who lose SSI eligibility because of Social Security (Title II) benefit increases may continue to be eligible for state supplementation if they reside in a specific living arrangement and have income below income limits.

b. Couples are treated as two individuals the month after leaving an independent living arrangement.

c. Community providers enrolled to provide assistive care services can receive an additional payment from Medicaid recipients residing in their facilities.

**DEFINITIONS:** 

Adult family care home. Serves up to five persons aged 18 or older, providing housing, food, and personal services.

Assisted living facility. Serves four or more persons aged 18 or older, providing housing, food, and personal services.

Medicaid facility. Includes recipients residing in a federal Code D living arrangement.

Florida

Number of persons receiving optional state supplementation, January 2005							
Living arrangement	Total	Aged	Blind				
All recipients	9,393	3,705	3				
Community care programs							
Adult family care home	379	117	0				
Assisted living facility	8,499	3,495	3				
Medicaid facility	515	93	0				

NOTE: Includes certain grandfathered, non-SSI recipients who meet state eligibility criteria.

## State Assistance for Special Needs

### Medically Needy Program

State does not provide assistance for special needs.

Medicaid

Eligibility

Criteria: SSI program guidelines (Title XVI).

Determined by: Social Security Administration.

# State provides a program for the aged, blind, and disabled medically needy.

## Unpaid Medical Expenses

The Social Security Administration does not obtain this information.

Disabled 5,685

> 262 5,001 422